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Getting Started - Offer Setup Guide
Getting Started - Offer Setup Guide

The Offer Setup Guide for Setting Up Offers, Tracking Links, Setting Revenue & Payouts, Attribution, Targeting, Fail Traffic & Creatives.

Genny avatar
Written by Genny
Updated over a week ago

Overview

The Offer Setup Guide will walk you through creating your first Offers in the Everflow platform.

Please refer to the step-by-step guide below or utilize the Milestones in your Everflow account for guidance and examples on creating your very first Offer.

But, before we get into all the technical details, make sure you know the terms below to navigate this guide with ease!


Short Glossary: Advertiser, Offer, Partner, & Payout

  • Advertiser - In Everflow, an Advertiser (or Brand) is the company that owns the Offer and pays Partners for successful Conversions. If you're a retailer, you're the Advertiser for your products. If promoting for others, the advertiser will be the offer owner (ex: Nike for Jordan shoes) it's listed as that company (Nike for Jordan shoes).

  • Offers - An Offer is the Product/App/Etc being promoted. Examples: Promoting Nike shoe sales or Candy Crush App installs.

  • Partners - Also called Publishers, Affiliates or Influencers, Partners are sources/channels you want to track and pay for promoting Offers. Examples: Instagram influencers, blogs that will talk about your product/service, etc.

  • Payout - The amount you pay Partners for a successful Conversion (when their effort led to your Customer buying a product, completing a form, installing an App, etc.).


A How-To Offer Setup Guide: MUST Know Basics

Creating the Offer

  • To create an Offer, navigate to Offers - Add.

Required Fields

So, you want to create your first Offer? You need to know that not every field needs your immediate attention. There are some Required fields (indicated by a red dot next to the field name) and without them your Offer can’t be Saved.

We will cover the required fields first.

Want your Offer to do more than simply “work”? Check out our Advanced options HERE!

Complete each of the following steps to properly configure your Offer.

Note: This section is divided by the tabs when adding or editing an Offer.

1. General

  • Name - Name the Offer in a clear way, as it will be visible externally to Partners and Advertisers.

  • Status - Choose an Active, Paused or Pending Status. If an Offer is set to Paused or Pending Status, the Offer will not track Payouts for Partners.

  • Advertiser - If you own the Offer, set yourself as the Advertiser. Otherwise, specify the third-party Advertiser you're working with.

  • Category - Categories group Offers together for easy searching and reporting internally and externally. For example, if the Advertiser is a shoe company - Shoes, Socks, Accessories could be different Categories.

  • Currency - The Currency used for Revenue and Payout will be visible externally and cannot be changed after the Offer goes live. Hint: This is typically the same Currency used for the Network Setting ( Control Center > Platform Configuration)

  • Base Destination URL - This is the landing page/website that a user will go to after clicking on the Partner tracking link. Sticking with the shoe company example, you are working with an Influencer who has their own review site. The influencer will use their partner tracking link in their review to send their readers to your website. Once the user is on your website, which is the Base Destination URL, Everflow can start tracking.

Note: Typically Everflow users go through the entire Offer setup to create an offer and then go back to edit the Base Destination URL to enable tracking of conversions but also additional data points.

You can dive into this now by clicking HERE.

2. Revenue & Payout

These two settings, used together, will determine the margin you see in your reporting!

  • Revenue - What you will earn from a Conversion / Sale / Signup of the Offer

  • Payout - What will be paid to your Partner for the Conversion / Sale / Signup of the Offer

Base Revenue Type

Definition

Example

RPA - Revenue Per Action

Flat/Static incoming revenue for each conversion or event.

RPA: $10

You will earn $10 for every email address submitted on the Shoe Website

RPC - Revenue Per Click

This gives a flat revenue rate for each click.

RPC: $0.1

So for every unique click your Revenue will be $0.1.

RPM - Revenue Per Mille

Your revenue per thousand impressions (RPM).

RPM: $20

For every 1,000 visitors/impressions you send to the shoe website, you'll earn a $20 flat fee.

RPS - % Revenue per Sale

This takes a set percentage of the total sale to determine the revenue amount.

RPS: 10%

For any purchase made, you earn 10% of the total sale revenue.

If a customer buys $350 worth of shoes, your revenue would be $350 * 0.1 = $35

Base Cost Type

Definition

Example

CPA - Cost Per Action

Flat cost for each conversion event.

CPA: $5

You will pay $5 for every new email newsletter signup on the shoe website.

CPC - Cost Per Click

Flat cost per qualified click.

CPC: $0.25

You pay $0.25 for every click sent to the shoe website.

CPM - Cost Per Mille

Cost per 1,000 impressions.

CPM: $3

For every 1,000 impressions/visitors to the shoe website, your cost is a $3 flat fee.

CPS - Cost Per Sale

Percentage of the total sale amount.

CPS: 12%

For each purchase made, you pay 12% of the total sale revenue. Example: If a customer buys $200 worth of shoes, your cost would be $200 * 0.12 = $24

For a deeper overview on defining revenue/payout -[Click Here]

Price Per Product got you confused? [Click HERE!]

3. Tracking & Controls

  • Conversion Method: Choose Server Postback (S2S) if your Advertiser/Shopping Cart supports it. Otherwise, select JavaScript SDK for cookie-based tracking by placing code on your site.

    • Everflow has the following integrations with Ecom platforms: Shopify, WooCommerce, ClickBank & ClickFunnels. If you are using one of these integrations, select JavaScript SDK as your conversion method. You will find more details on how to set up conversion tracking by enabling the integration by going to Integrations > Ecom tab.

Learn about how to set up conversion tracking using this guide. Offer should be created before setting up conversion tracking.

Note: Third-party cookies are no longer a reliable tracking method. Using Server Postbacks or our JS SDK is recommended for optimal tracking.

  • Visibility: 'Public' enables Partners to view and promote the Offer immediately. 'Require Approval' allows Partners to apply for permission to run the Offer. ‘Private' allows access only to Partners you specify.

  • Unique Session Identifier / Session Duration: The recommended choice is 'Cookie', '1' for Session Duration, and 'Days' for Time Interval (or 24 hours). This determines how duplicate clicks are shown in the reporting.

  • Redirect Mode: Use 'Standard (302)' as the default for all Offers, as it's the fastest and most reliable redirect method. For SEO traffic, 'Redirect for the permanent move (301)' may be used to preserve link equity for SEO purposes, but could cause duplicate clicks to be dropped.

4. Attribution

The Attribution Model determines which Partner receives credit for conversions tracked via cookies (JS SDK Conversion Method).

With the First Touch model, the first Partner that initially interacted with the user (Click or Impression) gets credited for the conversion, even if other Partners subsequently engaged that same user. In contrast, the Last Touch model credits the most recent Partner that delivered the user right before the conversion occurred.

Last touch attribution is usually an industry standard.

Attribution Example

Let's illustrate with an example: Suppose a customer first encounters your product through a TikTok ad from the Partner "Kevin." A week later, the same customer sees a Google Ad for the same product and makes a purchase. In this scenario, if you have the First Touch Attribution model enabled, "Kevin" will receive the payout for that conversion. This is because Kevin was the first Partner to introduce the customer to your product, despite the final conversion happening after the Google Ad interaction.

All required fields are now filled out and you can continue through the different tabs to hit save. Congratulations on creating your first offer!


Advanced Options for Setting up an Offer

1. General

Now let’s go through the optional fields together!

  • Thumbnail - You can insert a Thumbnail image of the product or the offer being promoted for Partners to view.

  • Offer Group - Offer Groups allow you to set a shared cap for related offers. Offer Groups are typically used by Agencies or Networks as a way to manage spend.

  • Labels - Labels act as internal hashtags for reporting, searching and filtering. Hit enter/return after typing each one. They are useful for analyzing efforts - e.g. use "ecomm" to report on e-commerce offers or create a label like "Conference2024" for partners met at an event. You can later run a report to see how much revenue your partners brought and whether you want to attend that conference again.

  • App Identifier - Provide the App Identifier (Bundle ID) if promoting an app, visible in URLs like: iOS: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/candy-crush-saga/id553834731 Android:https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.company.candycrushsaga - Please note that app store data will be stored for Offers that utilize the App ID field.

  • Preview URL - The Preview URL is the final user landing page after clicking the Base URL, grabbed as a snapshot by the system. This is used typically when Redirect Partner Tracking Links are being utilized to allow the Partner to see the final landing page without clicking on the tracking link.

  • Internal notes - For adding private notes that are only visible internally for your team.

  • Channels - Used for organizing allowed traffic channels for external and internal visibility. Traffic channels are the accepted methods for Partner's to promote the offer, EX: Driving traffic through Affiliate, Facebook, Native, etc. Everflow does not enforce the use of approved traffic sources added as a Channel. This field is a clear way to filter and manage offers by Channels. Please click here to find out about Traffic Control options.

  • Expiration - Date after which the status of the offer changes to inactive. The date is inclusive : if the date is 2025-03-03 the offer will remain active until 2025-03-03 23:59:59. As an example, many use this for Holiday promotions like Christmas, etc.

  • Description - Externally visible to your partners. Provide rules to run the offer, offer/product description, reasons for the partner to run this offer…. - By default this field is set to Accept limited HTML. There is an option to enable “plain text”.

2. Revenue and Payout

Additional Events

Everflow allows you to track and attribute various user actions to the partner source that originally referred them. For example, if you are the owner of a big shoe company, you can trace the following actions back to the referring partner:

  1. User enters email to sign up for the newsletter

  2. User adds items to their shopping cart

  3. User makes a purchase

  4. User returns a week later and uses a 25% off coupon code from the newsletter to make another purchase

All of these pre-conversion and post-conversion events like newsletter signups, cart adds, purchases, and coupon redemptions can be mapped back to the originating partner referral source.

  • For a deeper overview on defining revenue/payout - [Click Here]

  • For a deeper overview on adding Offer Events - [Click Here]

  • For a deeper overview on Advertiser level events (and Global Event postbacks) - [Click Here]

3. Tracking and Controls

Define settings related to tracking, Caps, and Partner permissions.

  • Force SSL: By default this is enabled as it’s standard practice. This forces the more secure https:// instead of http://.

  • Support Deep Links: Enabling this allows Partners to send traffic to target URLs by adding &url=[target URL] inside their tracking links, rather than using your destination URL. For example, this is used to allow your partner to select a product specific page to direct users to instead of the homepage.

  • Use Direct Linking: Use Direct Linking if you own the Offer and want to send people directly to your store without redirecting. Since the traffic doesn't go through the Everflow link with Direct Linking, we can't control caps, targeting, etc. We don't recommend using Direct Links for multiple email campaigns as it may increase spam risk. Direct Linking is recommended if you use Facebook and/or Google as a traffic source. (Direct Linking works best when the Conversion Method is JS SDK.)

  • Enable Caps: This sets limits on traffic volume according to your budgets or other considerations. Any traffic over the cap amounts will be marked as Invalid Clicks, and excess Conversions marked as Pending instead of Approved. (This is typically used by Networks and Agencies.)

  • Enable Terms & Conditions: Terms & Conditions become externally visible when enabled. A pop up appears when a Partner logs into their account. You also have the option to require a Partner to agree to the terms in order to enter their login.

  • Enable Duplicate Click Filter: Enabling this will mark duplicate clicks (as defined in the session identifier) as Invalid Clicks. An invalid click will never lead to a conversion. You can choose to either block the duplicate click (lands on a blank page) or send it to Fail Traffic.

4. Attribution

Set additional parameters related to validating Clicks and Conversions. Generally, these features are not necessary but can be helpful in certain cases, including: the ability to block Conversions and associated Payouts that occur outside of the defined time window between Click and Conversion, Impression Tracking & Attribution (enabled upon request) and tracking through Server Side Clicks (not recommended for most clients).

  • For a deeper overview on the Click-to-Conversion function - [Click Here]

  • For a deeper overview on Impression Tracking - [Click Here]

  • For a deeper overview on First Touch vs. Last Touch Attribution - [Click Here]

5. Targeting

Targeting is where you set requirements for which User’s Clicks should be accepted for the Offer. Clicks that don’t match with the traffic settings will show up as Invalid Clicks and will be sent to Fail Traffic (if enabled), or to an empty page (if Fail Traffic is disabled). The Targeting rules are based on the User's device and location, while language is detected from the User's browser.

  • Device Characteristics - Targeting is enforced based on the device information, connection type, and geolocation obtained from the User-Agent and IP address. The language is detected from the user's browser settings.

  • Geolocation - DMA (Designated Market Area) targeting allows you to focus on specific metropolitan areas. Alternatively, you can convert the desired DMAs into a list of relevant cities.

  • ZIP/Postal Code - Traffic from locations outside the specified ZIP/postal codes will be rejected. Enter one value per line, spacing and case don't matter.

  • Connection Type - Selecting 'Wifi' will include both desktop and mobile traffic.

  • Block Proxy Traffic - Enabling this can prevent users from spoofing their IP to fake a location. Everflow utilizes Digital Element to identify clicks coming from known proxy servers.

  • Day Parting - This setting lets you specify the days of the week and hours when the custom setting is active. Traffic outside those parameters will not activate this setting. It's typically used for pay-per-call offers to send traffic only when the call center is open (e.g., Monday to Friday).

  • Enable Traffic Filtering - This allows you to block traffic based on values passed under set parameters. These settings can be created in bulk under the Offers > Traffic Control section.

For a deeper overview on Targeting - [Click Here]

6. Fail Traffic

Enabling this option will redirect Invalid Clicks to Offers you specify via the 'Add Redirect' section below. Clicks may be marked as invalid due to targeting restrictions, capping limits, paused Offer status, or applied filters. If 'Pay Partner' is disabled, Partners will not receive reporting, conversions, or payouts for any clicks or conversions from Fail Traffic Offers.

Note: This tool will not work with Direct Linking.

Redirect Mechanism

This setting determines how Fail Traffic is distributed among the listed Offers:

  • Priority: Invalid clicks are sent sequentially to Offers based on the specified priority order (1, 2, 3...) until reaching an Offer whose internal targeting settings match the user's characteristics.

  • Weight: Invalid clicks are distributed across the listed Offers according to the configured percentage splits.

The Priority option attempts to match users with a relevant Offer, while Weight allows you to divide traffic proportionally between multiple Fail Traffic Offers.

When disabled, Invalid Clicks will be sent to an empty page. One of the most effective tools for managing Fail Traffic is a Smart Link.

7. Creatives

Upload creative files for Partners to Download for their promotion of your offer.

This option allows you to upload: archives (zip file with multiple creatives up to 100 MB), images, videos, links and emails. Max individual file size is 20 MB.

8. Email

Useful information if you're working with Email Partners. You can display approved 'Subject' and 'From' lines, implement suppression lists and more.

  • Enable Suppression File - You can upload an archive file (*.zip, .gz, .7z, *.rar) containing a suppression list. Note that Everflow does not aggregate or manage these files; they are solely the customer's responsibility. Upload files here to facilitate transfer between the Advertiser and Partners only.

  • Enable Email Instructions - When enabled, this field allows you to display approved Subject and From lines, which will be visible externally to Partners.

  • Enable Email Opt-out - Provide Partners with an unsubscribe link and a link to download an external suppression file for opt-outs.

By enabling these options, you can share suppression file data between Advertisers and Partners, set approved email instructions visible to Partners, and give Partners the ability to opt-out or download suppression files for compliance purposes.

For a deeper overview on managing email traffic - [Click Here]

Additionally, we also have useful Email Integrations. These are 3rd party services that manage your shared email suppression lists across all of your partners. Here are some of them:


Once the Offer is set up, you are ready to generate revenue!

In order to track your conversions, Advertiser postbacks must be created - [Click Here] to get started.


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